No, the Gateway will automatically be updated whenever there is a new software version, provided that it is permanently connected to the Internet. Respectively, the application will be updated either automatically or upon your approval, once a new version is made available. If the application is not updated, it continues to function normally, however, it is recommended, to be updated with the latest version.